Collier County Injury Prevention Resources

Road Safety

Bike Safety – Jody Walborn – All Children’s Hospital – Jwalborn1@jhmi.edu – 239-738-3155

Car Seats (CPS) – Brenda Hernandez – Golosiano Children’s Hospital of SW Florida – Brenda.Hernandez@LeeHealth.org – 239-565-8371

Heatstroke – Safe Kids Collier – www.safekids.org – 239-343-6199

Front over/Back over – Safe Kids Collier – www.safekids.org – 239-343-6199

Pedestrian Safety – Jody Walborn, All Children’s Hospital, Jwalborn1@jhmi.edu, 239-738-3155

Teen/Pre-Teen Driver – Collier County Sheriff – Christine.Chappell@colliersheriff.org – 239-252-0144

 

HOME SAFETY
Animal Bites – 
Collier County Government – 239-252-7387

Button Battery – Florida Poison Prevention – Floridapoisoncontrol.org – 1-800-222-1222

Carbon Monoxide – North Collier Fire District – Jaguilera@northcollierfire.com – 239-253-6199

Falls – Safe Kids Collier – www.safekids.org – 239-343-6199

Fire/Burns/Scalds – North Collier Fire District – Jaguilera@northcollierfire.com – 239-253-6199

Medication Safety – Drug Free Collier – adimercurio@drugfreecollier.org – 239-377-0535

Poisoning – Florida Poison Prevention – Floridapoisoncontrol.org – 1-800-222-1222

Laundry Packets – Florida Poison Prevention – Floridapoisoncontrol.org – 1-800-222-1222

Safe Sleep – Florida Department of Health in Collier – Danna.Breeden@flhealth.gov – 239-252-6022

Toy Safety – Safe Kids Collier – www.safekids.org – 239-343-6199

TV/Furniture Tip – Over – Safe Kids Collier – www.safekids.org – 239-343-6199

Water Safety – NCH Safe and Healthy Children’s Coalition – Paula.Digrigoli@nchmd.org – 239-624-4033

 

SPORTS/REC SAFETY

ATV Safety – ATV Safety Institute – www.atvsafety.org – 800-887-2887

Boating – US Coast Guard Auxiliary – 261-7375

CPR/AED – NCH Safe and Healthy Children’s Coalition – Paula.Digrigoli@nchmd.org – 239-624-4033

Drowning – NCH Safe and Healthy Children’s Coalition – Paula.Digrigoli@nchmd.org – 239-624-4033

Playground – National Program for Playground Safety – Playgroundsafety.org – 1-800-554-7529

Sport Activities – Safe Kids Collier – www.safekids.org – 239-343-6199

Trampoline – Trampoline Safety – www.trampolinesafety.com

Wheeled Sports (Scooter, Skateboard) – Jody Walborn – All Children’s Hospital – Jwalborn1@jhmi.edu – 239-738-3155

 

Other Safety 

Bullying – Collier County Public Schools – www.collierschools.com/bullying – 239-377-0001

Disaster Prep./Emergency – Florida Department of Health in Collier – Jefferson.Welle@flhealth.gov – 239-252-2631

E-cig/Liquid – Tobacco Free Collier – Melissa.peacock@flhealth.gov – 239-252-5535

Nicotine – Tobacco Free Collier – Robert.Ostbye@flhealth.gov – 239-252-6722

Marijuana – Drug Free Collier – adimercurio@drugfreecollier.org – 239-377-0535

Farm – University of Florida Extension – www.collier.ifas.ufl.edu – 239-252-4800

Guns – Collier County Sheriff’s Office – Sherry.Anderson@colliersheriff.org – 239-253-4247

Holiday Safety – Safe Kids Collier – www.safekids.org – 239-343-6199

Intentional Injury – Children’s Advocacy Center of Collier County – 239-263-8383

Project Life Saver – Collier County Sheriff’s Office – Jackie.Borchers@colliersheriff.org – 239-252-0234

 

PARENTING CLASSES

Children’s Advocacy Center/Golisano Children’s Hospital
All Ages-FREE-8 weeks (court ordered available)
Kristen.millet@leehealth.org – 239-989-7332
Kware@caccollier.org – 239-263-8383    Ext. 235

 

Grace Place for Children and Families
All Ages-FREE- Ongoing Sept. through June
info@graceplacenaples.org
239-234-2400

Youth Haven
All Ages-Sliding Scale-8 weeks (court ordered available)
www.youthhavenswfl.org
239-774-2904

 

David Lawrence Center
5-18 year olds-FREE-6 weeks (court ordered available)
DavidLawrenceCenter.org
239-263-4013

 

NCH Healthcare System – Birthing Place
Infant  and grant parents
CommunityEducation@NCHmd.org
239-552-7396