Collier County Injury Prevention Resources

Safe Kids Southwest Florida and Florida Department of Health in Collier County put together this Injury Prevention Resources Guide for Collier County – Click Here to download the list.

Road Safety

Bike Safety – Jody Walborn – Jwalborn1@jhmi.edu – 239-738-3155

Car Seats (CPS) – Brenda Hernandez -Brenda.Hernandez@LeeHealth.org – 239-565-8371

Heatstroke – Sally Kreuser – Sally.Kreuscher@LeeHealth.org-  239-343-6199

Front over/Back over – Sally Kreuser – Sally.Kreuscher@LeeHealth.org-  239-343-6199

Pedestrian Safety – Jody Walborn – Jwalborn1@jhmi.edu – 239-738-3155

Teen/Pre-Teen Driver – Christine.Chappell@colliersheriff.org – 239-252-0144

 

HOME SAFETY
Animal Bites – 
Collier County Government – 239-252-7387

Button Battery – Florida Poison Prevention – Floridapoisoncontrol.org – 1-800-222-1222

Carbon Monoxide – Jaguilera@northcollierfire.com – 239-253-6199

Falls – Sally Kreuser – Sally.Kreuscher@LeeHealth.org-  239-343-6199

Fire/Burns/Scalds –  Jaguilera@northcollierfire.com – 239-253-6199

Medication Safety – adimercurio@drugfreecollier.org – 239-377-0535

Poisoning – Florida Poison Prevention – Floridapoisoncontrol.org – 1-800-222-1222

Laundry Packets – Florida Poison Prevention – Floridapoisoncontrol.org – 1-800-222-1222

Safe Sleep – Danna.Breeden@flhealth.gov – 239-252-6022

Toy Safety – Sally Kreuser – Sally.Kreuscher@LeeHealth.org-  239-343-6199

TV/Furniture TipOver – Sally Kreuser – Sally.Kreuscher@LeeHealth.org-  239-343-6199

Water Safety – Paula.Digrigoli@nchmd.org – 239-624-4033

 

SPORTS/REC SAFETY

ATV Safety – ATV Safety Institute – www.atvsafety.org – 800-887-2887

Boating – US Coast Guard Auxiliary – 261-7375

CPR/AED – Paula.Digrigoli@nchmd.org – 239-624-4033

Drowning – Paula.Digrigoli@nchmd.org – 239-624-4033

Playground – National Program for Playground Safety – Playgroundsafety.org – 1-800-554-7529

Sport Activities – Sally Kreuser – Sally.Kreuscher@LeeHealth.org-  239-343-6199

Trampoline – Trampoline Safety – www.trampolinesafety.com

Wheeled Sports (Scooter, Skateboard) – Jody Walborn – All Children’s Hospital – Jwalborn1@jhmi.edu – 239-738-3155

 

Other Safety 

Bullying – www.collierschools.com/bullying – 239-377-0001

Disaster Prep./Emergency – Kathleen.Marr@flhealth.gov
239-252-6974

E-cig/Liquid – Melissa.peacock@flhealth.gov – 239-252-5535

Nicotine – Robert.Ostbye@flhealth.gov – 239-252-6722

Marijuana – Adimercurio@drugfreecollier.org – 239-377-0535

Farm –  www.collier.ifas.ufl.edu – 239-252-4800

Guns – Sherry.Anderson@colliersheriff.org – 239-253-4247

Holiday Safety – Sally Kreuser – Sally.Kreuscher@LeeHealth.org-  239-343-6199

Intentional Injury – Children’s Advocacy Center of Collier County – 239-263-8383

Project Life Saver – Jackie.Borchers@colliersheriff.org – 239-252-0234

 

PARENTING CLASSES

NCH Birthing Place – CommunityEducation@NCHmd.org –

239-552-7396

FREE breastfeeding and parenting classes for Healthy Start Clients-all others sliding scale.

Grace Place – info@graceplacenaples.org-

239-234-2400

All Ages-FREE- Ongoing August through May

David Lawrence Center  239-263-4013

5-18 year olds-FREE-6 weeks (court ordered available*)

Children’s Advocacy Center  239-263-8383 Ext 235 Kware@caccollier.org

FREE Court Ordered Parenting*

Golisano Nicklaus Health Center – 239-989-7332 – Kristin.millet@leehealth.org

FREE Voluntary Parenting Classes(All Ages)-8 weeks

Youth Haven
All Ages-Sliding Scale-8 weeks (court ordered available)
www.youthhavenswfl.org
239-774-2904

*Cout Ordered
Please consult your case worker or the court to find out which class you need. Not all facilities offer all COURT ORDERED classes.